Special: Star Trek/Doctor Who: Assimilation Squared

startrek

This time around, I thought I’d review the Star Trek the Next Generation/Doctor Who crossover comic, Assimilation Squared.

Writers: Scott and David Tipton, Tony Lee

Art: JK Woodward, The Sharp Bros. and Gordon Purcett (issues 3 and 4), Gordon Purcell

Summary: The Eleventh Doctor, Amy Pond, and Rory Williams find themselves in one of the Holodecks of the Starfleet Federation’s flagship, Enterprise. They soon learn that the Cybermen and the Borg have formed an alliance.

Review: When I was a kid, my two favorite sci-fi TV shows were Star Trek: The Next Generation and Doctor Who. So imagine my joy when I learned this comic existed. Two of my favorite TV programs together in one comic!

First, I want to talk about the art. The style wasn’t what I expected. It’s more of a painted style than a traditional one. I kind of liked it. (There was also a short scene with the Fourth Doctor and the original Enterprise crew. That part was done in a more traditional style.)

The story was actually pretty good. The Tipton brothers were great at writing the characters as you’d expect them to act. They even remembered that Guinan, the bartender on Next Generation, would probably recognize that the Doctor was not from the Star Trek universe. I was a bit disappointed that the Doctor was unfamiliar with Klingons.

My only problem with the story was that the Eleventh Doctor wanted to negotiate with the Cybermen rather than fight them. The Doctor does have an aversion to violence, but even knows there are times when violence is necessary. He should have remembered that the Cybermen weren’t exactly a race that would be negotiated with.

So, do I recommend this comic? Yes. If you’re a Trekkie, you’ll enjoy it. If you’re a Whovian, it might entertain as well. IDW’s often made comics based on TV programs (they’re the company that made comics out of My Little Pony, Ghostbusters, etc.), so this wasn’t unusual.

Overall Review: 8/10

Trivia: IDW has also done comics starring the Tenth Doctor.

 

Leave a Reply

