Eleventh Doctor: The God Complex

god complex

Writer: Toby Whithouse

Director: Nick Hurran

Series: 6, episode 11

Companions: Amy Pond (Karen Gillan), Rory Williams (Arthur Darvill)

Summary: The TARDIS lands in what looks like a hotel in the 80’s, where each patron is trapped inside a room with their worst fears.

Review: One reason I rewatch episodes is to see if my opinion changes. When I decided to rewatch Doctor Who in order to update this site, I decided to give this episode another try, because initially it had offended me. My biggest problem was that I thought it was going with the theme that believing in things was dangerous. Everyone’s beliefs gave them a false sense of security and made them prey for the monster. But I realize that my own prejudice as a Catholic may have caused me to see this episode with bias. So, I decided to put that feeling aside and try to ignore them. I now realize they were not attacking belief. They were actually attacking confidence and blindness to one’s beliefs. Beliefs are not good unless they are challenged, and I think that is the true theme.

There’s a lot of good in this story. The atmosphere is perfect. Even the fact that the Weeping Angels don’t really do anything is not a minus. They aren’t the point of the story, so it’s not actually a disappointment. I also like that the Doctor has to appear to betray his companions in order to save them. This is an element that has come up several times in the show, and it reinforces that while the Doctor is admirable, he is still at the end of the day, an anti-hero.

I am glad to see that I misjudged this episode, and I can now say that it is one of Toby Whithouse’s best stories.

Overall Review: 8/10

Continuity: Another story in which the Doctor has had to emotionally cripple a companion in order to save them was “The Curse of Fenric”.  “The Time Monster” and “The Horns of Nimon” also had a minotaur, and in fact this minotaur is from that race. We see another crack in time in the Doctor’s room, as well as Weeping Angels. In fact, this is the only story where the Weeping Angels appear, but do not influence the plot.

Leave a Reply

